Charlie Rich Sings the Songs of Hank Williams
Plus The R&B Sessions

  • Diablo

  • Originally Recorded in 1966-1967 for Hi

• Available from Tower Records

Like a healthy dose of rhythm and blues with your country? Charlie Rich Sings the Songs of Hank Williams Plus the R&B Session is a 2-fer that captures Charlie at his soulful best within the confines of the legendary Hi Studio at a time (1966-67) when both Hi and Stax were cranking out one Memphis soul classic after another from the likes of Otis Redding, Rufus Thomas, Willie Mitchell, and Sam ‘n’ Dave. Not surprising to anyone familiar with Charlie’s eclectic stew, his takes on Hank Williams’ "You Win Again" and "Hey Good Lookin’" sound more like pulsing soul standards than country classics, while many of the songs from The R&B Sessions are standard Rich country fare. This CD is a welcome addition to any Charlie Rich collection.

Sings the Songs of Hank Williams

  1. My Heart Would Know

  2. Take These Chains From My Heart

  3. Half As Much

  4. You Win Again

  5. I Can’t Help It

  6. Hey Good Lookin’

  7. Your Cheatin’ Heart

  8. Cold Cold Heart

  9. Nobody’s Lonesome For Me

  10. I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry

  11. Wedding Bells

  12. They’ll Never Take Her Love From Me

The R&B Sessions

  1. Love Is After Me

  2. Pass On By **

  3. Hurry Up Freight Train *

  4. Only Me **

  5. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby

  6. Don’t Tear Me Down *

  7. Can’t Get Right *

  8. I’ll Shed No Tears *

  9. To Fool A Fool *

  10. Who Will The Next Fool Be? *

  11. Big Time Operator

  12. Renee *

  13. Motels, Hotels *

*written by Charlie Rich
**written by Margaret Ann Rich


Charlie Rich Enterprises.
The materials contained herein may not be reproduced or utilized in any form or by any means,
electronic or mechanical, without the proper permission of
Charlie Rich Enterprises.